

Contact Information Eric Ryer Town Administrator 1293 Washington Avenue Cedarburg, WI 53012 eryer@townofcedarburgwi.gov www.townofcedarburgwi.gov 262-377-4509

#### FOR RELEASE October 3, 2024

## **New History Speaker Series**

## Behind the Scenes with Ruth Cook: How Hamilton Became a Historic District

## Wednesday, October 9th at 5:00 pm

Town of Cedarburg Landmarks Commission announces a new History Speaker Series in honor of the Town's 175<sup>th</sup> Anniversary. 2024 is also the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Hamilton Historic District Designation by the Wisconsin State Historical Society.

# In honor of these two important milestones, the Landmarks Commission has asked Ruth Cook to give the Inaugural Talk: *Behind the Scenes with Ruth Cook: How Hamilton Became a Historic District*

Ruth was one of the original Town Landmarks Commission members who wrote the successful proposal submitted to the Wisconsin Historical Society for National Register Nomination. Ruth also created original artwork and presented the documents to the Historic Preservation Board on behalf of the Town Landmarks Commission and Town Board. The Hamilton District was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

Town Landmarks Commission Chairwoman Kari Esser said, "Many Town residents appreciate the historic stone houses, barns, and longstanding farms in our midst. Landmarks Commission itself has a long history of volunteer residents who persevered to encourage preservation. Our new History Speaker Series will feature interesting and inspiring stories from our past told by our friends and neighbors who made a difference to the Town. The true story of how Hamilton's unique buildings were "saved" by determined Town residents and a hardworking Commission may be forgotten as we go about life 50 years later, but it is a tale worth re-telling. These events are free and open to the public. We hope to see young and old together to hear Ruth Cook's Inaugural Talk and celebrate a "lucky break" that kept Hamilton's treasured landmarks in place for all of us to appreciate today."

The event is free to the public and will take place at Town Hall at 1293 Washington Avenue at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 9<sup>th</sup>. Please join us! If you are interested in supporting future Town Landmarks Commission History Speaker Series Talks, please contact Jack Johnston, Assistant Administrator/Clerk at 262-377-4509 or Kari Esser, Chairwoman at 414-810-9503.

Research and assistance was provided by volunteer historians at Ozaukee Historical Society – Hazel Wirth Archives. Landmarks Commission: Kari Esser, Chairwoman – Eric Utz, Carol Boettcher, Tim Rasmussen, Lance Schaefer, Cecily Bishop, Ray Pecor.

#### Town of Cedarburg, Wisconsin

The Town of Cedarburg, which is home to Wisconsin's last covered bridge, strives to maintain its rural charm and high-quality of life while balancing growth and progress. The Town is located in Ozaukee County. For more information, visit <a href="http://www.townofcedarburgwi.gov">www.townofcedarburgwi.gov</a>

**Town Board of Supervisors** 

Dave Salvaggio, Chairman Wayne Pipkorn, Seat 1 Russ Lauer, Seat 2 Larry Lechner, Seat 3 Tom Esser, Seat 4